The final DPi champions: Meyer Shank Racing crowned by Petit Le Mans win


 With tensions high on their respective pitboxes, Wayne Taylor Racing and Meyer Shank Racing battled down to the wire to determine the winner of Motul Petit Le Mans and the 2022 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship DPi title. It came down to a broken WTR Acura and a season full of ups and downs bookended by victories for new champions Tom Blomqvist, Oliver Jarvis and Meyer Shank Racing.

A late-race caution caused by the two Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillacs taking each other out turned the race on its head, bringing new life to battles throughout the field; but in the end, with the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing bending a suspension wishbone in the last 15 minutes after side-by-side contact with a GTD car, Blomqvist and Jarvis took the championship in the No. 60 Acura, aided to Petit Le Mans victory by Helio Castroneves.

The No. 36 Andretti Autosport Ligier squad of Jarett Andretti, Gabby Chaves and Josh Burdon won LMP3. The two teams leading the championship, CORE Autosport and Riley Motorsports both had their turns at the front, but experienced a few problems along the way, but it was CORE’s Jon Bennett and Colin Braun, with George Kurtz as the third driver for the endurance races, that took the championship.

“It never gets old,” declared Bennett. “It was a pleasure to race with Colin and George this year in the race car. It’s a bit cliche, but you know, a really good team behind us, everyone had a good time, everyone getting along and just enjoying the sport. And I think that when you can find that chemistry it’s it’s a good thing and it’s a pleasure to race.”

Ari Balogh, Garrett Grist and Nolan Siegel were second for Jr III Racing, with the Sean Creech Motorsport squad of Joao Barbosa, Malthe Jakobsen and Nico Pino third.

Sin comentarios