Gragson goes four straight in Xfinity Series for the first time since 1983


 Noah Gragson parked his No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet at the finish line, emerged through his car’s roof hatch and raised his arms in triumph taking in the loud cheers from the Texas Motor Speedway grandstands as he celebrated a historic fourth consecutive NASCAR Xfinity Series victory Saturday afternoon in the Andy’s Frozen Custard 300.

It was a series best and career-high seventh win on the season for the 24-year-old Las Vegas native and automatically reserves his spot in the next round of the NASCAR Xfinity Series playoffs. That fourth consecutive victory is significant historically as well — tying one of the longstanding records set in 1983 by Sam Ard.

Although it was a tumultuous Playoff opener for many of the championship contenders, Gragson was out front often and ultimately when he needed to be. He didn’t win a stage, but led a race best 85-of-200 laps and held off fellow 2022 playoff contenders Austin Hill and Ty Gibbs by 1.238s to earn the big trophy — and even more momentum at just the right time of the calendar.

“This No. 9 team, man, they’re on fire and all you fans, you keep us motivated,’’ Gragson told the cheering grandstands. “We’re gonna come back and win more races for you. You guys are awesome and we appreciate you. Thanks for coming out.

“Just this team…I mean the pit crew’s done awesome and our car was as fast as Xfinity internet all day and I’m just so thankful for the opportunity.’’

“Such a relief,’’ he continued. “We lost this race back in 2020 and just executed a great race [today],’’ he continued.

Eight playoff cars finished in the top 10. Stewart-Haas Racing’s Riley Herbst was fifth, followed by playoff driver Josh Berry (JR Motorsports), Sheldon Creed, playoff drivers Sam Mayer (JR Motorsports) and Ryan Sieg (Ryan Sieg Racing). C.J. McLaughlin was 10th – the first top-10 of his career.

Entradas que pueden interesarte

Sin comentarios